Awards & Fellowships

Fletcher’s doctoral students have regularly received competitive awards and fellowships, including:

  • Social Science Research Council, International Dissertation Research Fellowship
  • Jennings Randolph Fellowship, United States Institute of Peace 
  • Pre-Doctoral/Post-Doctoral Fellowship, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University
  • Boren Award, NSEP Boren Program
  • Doctoral Fellowship, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation
  • Pre-Doctoral Research Fellowship, Brookings
  • Eisenhower-Roberts Doctoral Fellowship 
  • Fulbright Fellowship, The Fulbright Program
  • Morris Abrams Award in International Relations
  • Vasey Fellowship, Pacific Forum CSIS
  • Graduate Research Fellowship, Program on Negotiation, Harvard Law School
  • Smith Richardson Strategy and Policy Fellowship and Pre-Doctoral Fellowship
  • African Studies Association Best Graduate Student Paper Prize
  • RAND Summer Associate

In addition, the Fletcher faculty annually selects one of that year’s graduates to receive the Peter Ackerman Dissertation Award for the year’s most outstanding doctoral dissertation, demonstrating scholarly merit, originality, and contribution to the field and to society. Past recipients include:

2021: Bretton James McEvoy, "White Reckonings: The Possibilities for Transformative Justice Contributions from Anti-Racist White Activists in the United States" and Benjamin J. Spatz, "Cash Violence: Sanctions and the Politics of Power, and Peace"

2020: Sarah Detzner, "Nothing For Us Without Us?: The Impact of Popular Participation on Security Sector Reform Progress in Transitional States" and Roxani Krystalli, "'We Are Not Good Victims': Hierarchies of Suffering and the Politics of Victimhood in Colombia”

2019: Phoebe Donnelly, “The Implicit State of the Kurdistan Region: Path toward Tacit Acceptance by the Inter-State System” and Shahla Al-Kli, “Identifying Keys for Successful Development and Their Implications for Greenhouse Gas Emissions”

2018: Teera Tony Tunyavongs, "Social Networks and the Role of Norms in Missile Nonproliferation Policy Decisions"

2017: Avner Golov, "The Dark Side of Extended Deterrence: The Protégé's Deterrence Hedging” and Laura Kuhl, "Innovation and Technology Transfer for Climate Change Adaptation in the Agricultural Sector"

2016: Christof Kurz, “Mobilizing for or Against the State: State Formation and Civil War in West Africa”