Committee on the Ph.D. Program

In coordination with other Committees at Fletcher, the Academic Dean and the Executive Associate Dean for Student Affairs, the Committee on the Ph.D. Program directs the doctoral program. It is the policymaking body of the Ph.D. program. The committee:

  • Reviews all successfully defended Dissertation Proposals. It may approve, reject or conditionally approve any proposal pending additional information.
  • Decides outcome of the following student petitions:
  • extension of Ph.D. candidacy
  • approval of Ph.D. dissertation proposals
  • change of reader
  • change of title from original proposal
  • change of timing/examiner of comprehensive exams
  • deferring beginning the Ph.D. Program
  • reader exceptions (i.e., two non-Fletcher readers)
  • reinstatement to Ph.D. degree candidacy
  • transfer credit toward the 5th semester (the CSAP committee also reviews this petition)
  • Determines internal and external admission to the program
  • Nominates doctoral students for internal/fellowships that require school/institutional selection. Application deadlines for these awards are announced on the listserv. Nominees are drawn from the pool of applicants and not from the entire doctoral student body.

Current Membership

Membership is comprised of at least four professors (one of whom serves as the chair), two Ph.D. student reps elected by the Ph.D. students in the spring, the Associate Registrar, the Sr. Associate Director of Admissions, and the Director of the Ph.D. Program.

  • Chair of the Ph.D. Committee: Nadim Rouhana, Professor of International Negotiation and Conflict Studies, Director of the International Negotiation and Conflict Resolution Program.

    • Zeynep Bulutgil, Assistant Professor of Comparative Politics
    • Karen Jacobsen, Associate Professor of Global Migration
    • Robert L. Pfaltzgraff, Professor of International Security Studies
    • Jenifer Burckett-Picker, Director of the PhD Program
    • Ann Marie Decembrele, Associate Registrar
    • Jessica Daniels, Senior Associate Director, Admissions Office
    • Elected Student Representatives: Jeffrey Bacon and Roxanne Krystalli

    Downloadable Forms Petition Forms