Past Chairholders

Professor Thanos M. Veremis

Professor Veremis, who was the first Karamanlis Chairholder, is Professor Emeritus of Political History at the University of Athens, Greece. He was educated at Boston University and the University of Oxford and has served as a professor and a researcher at universities in Europe and the USA. His many books and articles in English and in Greek have focused on Greek political history and foreign policy, Greek-Turkish relations, Balkan reconstruction, and Southeastern Europe. He served as President of Greece’s National Council of Education, 2004-2010.

Professor George Prevelakis

Professor George Prevelakis is Professor of Human and Regional Geography at the University of Paris-Sorbonne, France. He was educated at Athens Technical University and Paris-Sorbonne and has written extensively on geopolitics, Greek geopolitics, the Hellenic Diaspora, the interplay between culture, politics and economics, and the Balkans. He is co-director of the French academic journal Anatoli (CNRS Editions). Currently Professor Prevelakis is Greece’s Ambassador to the OECD.

Professor Dimitris Keridis

Professor Dimitris Keridis is Associate Professor of International Politics and Deputy Director of the Institute of International Relations at Panteion University, Athens. He was educated at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy and has written extensively in English and in Greek on Greek foreign policy, US foreign policy and the war on terror, Turkey, the Balkans, the effects of disaster diplomacy, EU foreign policy and European security. He is a senior research associate at the Karamanlis Foundation and serves as the Director of Navarino Network (a public policy think-tank in Thessaloniki) and of Olympia Summer Academy. 

Presentation: “Spreading Democracy East and the Euro-Atlantic Partnership”

Professor Kostas A. Lavdas

Professor Kostas A. Lavdas is Professor of European Politics and Director of the Center for Political Research and Documentation (KEPET) at the University of Crete, Greece, where he has been a Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and a University Vice-Rector. He was educated in Greece, the UK (London School of Economics and the University of Manchester) and the USA (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and has served as a professor and a researcher at various universities in Europe and the USA. His many books and his articles in international journals (including The European Journal of Political Research and West European Politics) in English, Greek and German have focused on EU politics and policy, Greek politics, interest groups in comparative political analysis, and applied political theory.

Professor Alexandros Yannis

Dr. Alexandros Yannis was educated in Greece and Switzerland and has extensive international experience in multilateral diplomacy with the European Union and the United Nations. His experience includes working with the European Union Special Envoy to Somalia (1994-1997), the Special Representative of the United Nations Secretary General in Kosovo (1999-2000) and in the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights in Geneva (2001). Currently he is policy coordinator on global issues and responsible for energy diplomacy in the European External Action Service (EEAS) of the European Union.  

Professor George Th. Mavrogordatos

Professor George Mavrogordatos is Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Athens, Greece. He was educated in Greece and the United States and was awarded the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award of the American Political Science Association (“for the best book published in the United States on government, politics or international affairs”) for his dissertation Stillborn Republic in 1984. An Adviser to the Opposition during the debate on the new Greek Constitution, 1975 he founded and edited (with N. P. Diamandouros) Modern Greek Society: A Social Science Newsletter, 1973-1980. He was a member of the National Council for Research and Technology in Greece between 2005-2008.

Professor Michalis Psalidopoulos

Professor Psalidopoulos is Professor of the History of Economic Thought at the Department of Economics, University of Athens. He was educated in Athens and Berlin and was a Fulbright Fellow at Duke, a Stanley J. Seeger Fellow at Princeton and a Visiting Research Professor at King’s College, London. His research focuses on national traditions in the History of Economics and the relation between economic thought, economic policy and good governance, especially in Southeastern Europe. His most recent book is Economists and Economic policy in Modern Greece (in Greek, 2010). He has also published articles in History of Political Economy, in The European Journal for the History of Economic Thought and in History of Economic Ideas. He is currently involved in a comparative project of economic experiences and policies in Europe’s less industrialized countries during the Great Depression. He speaks English, German and French fluently, as well as Greek.