Past Deans

Throughout the years, 12 distinguished individuals have stood at the helm of The Fletcher School to ensure its mission was preserved and that excellence endured.

From Fletcher’s first dean, Halford Hoskins, to its current dean, Admiral James Stavridis, US Navy (Ret.), former Supreme Allied Commander at NATO, each has added his own unique and lasting mark on the institution.

Halford Lancaster Hoskins
Acting Dean, 1933-1934
Dean, 1934-1944

Ruhl Jaconb Bartlett
Acting Dean, 1944-1945

Robert Burgess Stewart
Dean, 1945-1964

Edmund Asbury Gullion
Dean, 1964-1978

John P. Roche
Acting Dean, 1978-1979

Theodore Lyman Eliot, Jr.
Dean, 1979-1985

John P. Roche
Dean ad interim, 1985-1986

Jeswald W. Salacuse
Dean, 1986-1994

Richard B. Mancke
Dean ad interim, 1994-1995

John R. Galvin
Dean, 1995-2000

Joel P. Trachtman
Dean ad interim, 2000-2001

Stephen W. Bosworth
Dean, 2001-2013

Start An Application

Request More Information from Fletcher

Fletcher Viewbook